Monza F1 Grand Prix
races and statistics on Monza F1 circuit

Monza F1 Grand Prix

Monza facts


The winner started from pole in 25 racess. In 10 occasions of them the driver has had the fastest lap. In 1971 Peter Gethin won the race after he started from position 11 (the lowest).

Consecutively wins: (3) Juan Manuel Fangio (2) Ronnie Peterson, Lewis Hamilton, Damon Hill, Nelson Piquet, Stirling Moss, Phil Hill, Alberto Ascari

Top drivers : Michael Schumacher (5); Lewis Hamilton (5); Sebastian Vettel (3);

Top teams : Ferrari (19); McLaren (10); Mercedes (7);

Pole positions

Top drivers at grid Lewis Hamilton (6); Juan Manuel Fangio (5); Ayrton Senna (5);

Consecutively poles: (4) Ayrton Senna, Lewis Hamilton (2) Niki Lauda, John Surtees, Juan Manuel Fangio, Stirling Moss, Juan Pablo Montoya, Alberto Ascari

In 1956 Ron Flockhart started the race from position 24 and finish on 3 (best jump).The worst finish was set by Sebastian Vettel in 2012 when he started from 5 and finish on 22.

Top drivers« » Top teams

Fastest laps

SeasonDriverFastest lap
2004 Rubens Barrichello 1:21.046
1991 Ayrton Senna 1:21.144
2005 Kimi Raikkonen 1:21.504
2019 Lewis Hamilton 1:21.779
2003 Michael Schumacher 1:21.932

clossest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Peter Gethin BRM -00:00.010 Ronnie Peterson March 5 Sep 1971
Jackie Stewart Matra -00:00.080 Jochen Rindt Lotus 7 Sep 1969
John Surtees Honda -00:00.200 Jack Brabham Brabham 10 Sep 1967
Rubens Barrichello Ferrari -00:00.255 Michael Schumacher Ferrari 15 Sep 2002
Jody Scheckter Ferrari -00:00.460 Gilles Villeneuve Ferrari 9 Sep 1979

bigest time difference between 1st and 2nd position

1st placeDifference2nd placeDate
Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:16:54.484 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 2 Sep 2018
Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes -1 lap Mike Hawthorn Ferrari 5 Sep 1954
Jim Clark Lotus -01:35.000 Richie Ginther BRM 8 Sep 1963
Denny Hulme McLaren -01:28.400 Johnny Servoz-Gavin Matra 8 Sep 1968
Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo -01:18.600 Alberto Ascari Ferrari 3 Sep 1950

F1 seasons

Season Winner Pole position
2019 Charles Leclerc Ferrari Charles Leclerc Ferrari
2018 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari
2017 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2016 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2015 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2014 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2013 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2012 Lewis Hamilton McLaren Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2010 Fernando Alonso Ferrari Fernando Alonso Ferrari
2009 Rubens Barrichello Brawn Lewis Hamilton McLaren
2008 Sebastian Vettel Toro Rosso Sebastian Vettel Toro Rosso
2007 Fernando Alonso McLaren Fernando Alonso McLaren
2006 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Kimi Raikkonen McLaren
2005 Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren Juan Pablo Montoya McLaren
2004 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Rubens Barrichello Ferrari
2003 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Michael Schumacher Ferrari
2002 Rubens Barrichello Ferrari Juan Pablo Montoya Williams
2001 Juan Pablo Montoya Williams Juan Pablo Montoya Williams
2000 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1999 Heinz-Harald Frentzen Jordan Mika Hakkinen McLaren
1998 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Michael Schumacher Ferrari
1997 David Coulthard McLaren Jean Alesi Benetton
1996 Michael Schumacher Ferrari Damon Hill Williams
1995 Johnny Herbert Benetton David Coulthard Williams
1994 Damon Hill Williams Jean Alesi Ferrari
1993 Damon Hill Williams Alain Prost Williams
1992 Ayrton Senna McLaren Nigel Mansell Williams
1991 Nigel Mansell Williams Ayrton Senna McLaren
1990 Ayrton Senna McLaren Ayrton Senna McLaren
1989 Alain Prost McLaren Ayrton Senna McLaren
1988 Gerhard Berger Ferrari Ayrton Senna McLaren
1987 Nelson Piquet Williams Nelson Piquet Williams
1986 Nelson Piquet Williams Teo Fabi Benetton
1985 Alain Prost McLaren Ayrton Senna Lotus
1984 Niki Lauda McLaren Nelson Piquet Brabham
1983 Nelson Piquet Brabham Riccardo Patrese Brabham
1982 Rene Arnoux Renault Mario Andretti Ferrari
1981 Alain Prost Renault Rene Arnoux Renault
1979 Jody Scheckter Ferrari Jean-Pierre Jabouille Renault
1978 Niki Lauda Brabham Mario Andretti Lotus
1977 Mario Andretti Lotus James Hunt McLaren
1976 Ronnie Peterson March Jacques Laffite Ligier
1975 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari Niki Lauda Ferrari
1974 Ronnie Peterson Lotus Niki Lauda Ferrari
1973 Ronnie Peterson Lotus Ronnie Peterson Lotus
1972 Emerson Fittipaldi Lotus Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1971 Peter Gethin BRM Chris Amon Matra
1970 Clay Regazzoni Ferrari Jacky Ickx Ferrari
1969 Jackie Stewart Matra Jochen Rindt Lotus
1968 Denny Hulme McLaren John Surtees Honda
1967 John Surtees Honda Jim Clark Lotus
1966 Ludovico Scarfiotti Ferrari Mike Parkes Ferrari
1965 Jackie Stewart BRM Jim Clark Lotus
1964 John Surtees Ferrari John Surtees Ferrari
1963 Jim Clark Lotus John Surtees Ferrari
1962 Graham Hill BRM Jim Clark Lotus
1961 Phil Hill Ferrari Wolfgang von Trips Ferrari
1960 Phil Hill Ferrari Phil Hill Ferrari
1959 Stirling Moss Cooper Stirling Moss Cooper
1958 Tony Brooks Vanwall Stirling Moss Vanwall
1957 Stirling Moss Vanwall Stuart Lewis-Evans Vanwall
1956 Stirling Moss Maserati Eugenio Castellotti Ferrari
1955 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Ken Wharton Vanwall
1954 Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes Juan Manuel Fangio Mercedes
1953 Juan Manuel Fangio Maserati Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1952 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Alberto Ascari Ferrari
1951 Alberto Ascari Ferrari Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo
1950 Giuseppe Farina Alfa Romeo Juan Manuel Fangio Alfa Romeo